Heartbreak: A Personal and Scientific Journey (Hardcover)

Heartbreak: A Personal and Scientific Journey Cover Image
$30.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Florence Williams explores the fascinating, cutting-edge science of heartbreak while seeking creative ways to mend her own.


When her twenty-five-year marriage unexpectedly falls apart, journalist Florence Williams expects the loss to hurt. What she doesn’t expect is that she’ll end up in the hospital, examining close-up the way our cells listen to loneliness. She travels to the frontiers of the science of “social pain” to learn why heartbreak hurts so much and why so much of the conventional wisdom about it is wrong.


Searching for insight as well as personal strategies to game her way back to health, Williams tests her blood for genetic markers of grief, undergoes electrical shocks in a laboratory while looking at pictures of her ex, and ventures to the wilderness in search of awe as an antidote to loneliness. For readers of Wild and Lab Girl, Heartbreak is a remarkable merging of science and self-discovery that will change the way we think about loneliness, health, and what it means to fall in and out of love.



About the Author


Florence Williams is the author of Breasts, winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and The Nature Fix. A contributing editor at Outside magazine, her writing has appeared in the New York Times, National Geographic, and many other outlets. She lives in Washington, DC.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781324003489
ISBN-10: 1324003480
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: February 1st, 2022
Pages: 304
Language: English